Sharing victory

Just sharing the news about the results of the EU Peace Journalism Awards. although I wasn’t able to attend, I value this award.

That's my kitten Patience as I was unboxing my trophy.
That’s my kitten Patience as I was unboxing my trophy.

EU Delegation to the Philippines and Partners congratulate the winners of the EU Peace Journalism Awards

The Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines together with its partners congratulated the winners of the EU Peace Journalism Awards held tonight (8 July 2015) in Makati City.

Jefry Tupas, NewsDesk, who is based in Davao City won the grand prize for his article, “The Teachers of Raja Muda”. The grand finalists were Mr Jes Aznar, Mindanews (photo essay) and Stella Estremera, Sun Star Davao (written text in print).

Tupas got an all-expenses paid trip to Brussels where he will meet with peace interlocutors in September.

For the written text in print media category, the semi-finalists were Nash Maulana, Inquirer.Net and Philippine Daily Inquirer; Ruji Peter Abat, Sun Star Davao;  while for the online category, semi-finalists were Joan Cordero, News Central Ph; Fritzi Rodriguez, Rappler Rappler. Jonathan Cellona of ABS-CBN News was adjudged semi-finalist for the photo essay category.

Froilan Gallardo of Mindanews received the’s Choice, a special award.

The following received special citations for their articles: Gigi Grande, ABS-CBN; Bernardino Testa, Interaksyon; Voltaire Tupaz, Rappler; Gianna Francesca Catolico and Cristi Ilagan, Plaridel (De La Salle University). The winners received trophies, gadgets and certificates.

Meanwhile, the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process which initiated a subcontest for government communicators announced that deadline for submission of entries for this category has been extended. Details will be announced in the OPAPP website.

Jurors for the EU Peace Journalism Awards were EU Ambassador Guy Ledoux, Chairperson Mohagher Iqbal of the Bangsamoro Transition Commission, Ms Rowena Paraan, Chairperson, National Union of Journalists of the Philippines; and Dr Mark Torres of the Mindanao State University, Institute for Peace and Development.

The EU Peace Journalism Awards were launched following the historic signing of the comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s